The Institute of Safety Professionals of Nigeria (ISPON), the statutory body responsible for regulating safety management in Nigeria, says it has expelled 29 “recalcitrant” members in a bid to move the institute forward.

This was disclosed in a communique issued at the end of a Joint Emergency Meeting of the governing board and branch chairmen of the institute held on August 9, 2019.

Eight members of the governing board and seven state branch chairmen attended the meeting which ratified recommendations of the institute’s disciplinary committee to expel the members, the communique said.

Safety Record can report that the Dr. Nnamdi Ilodiuba-led governing board of the institute has been at loggerheads with some members over the legitimacy of the board.

According to the communique signed by ISPON Registrar, Mr. Bola Aborode, the members were expelled for activities deemed at “variance with the ISPON Act 2014 and the Policy Guidelines of the institute”.

They were also said to have been expelled for refusing to “obey several Federal High Court orders/rulings, and in a bid to move the institute forward”.

A former President of the institute, Mr. Shaw Fregene; former Deputy President, Mr. Yusuf Haruna Malgwi; and former Registrar, Mr. Benson Adam-Otite; are some of those expelled.

See the full list below:

  1. Yusuf Haruna Malagwi
  2. Edward Uni Ajobo
  3. Benson Adam-Otite
  4. Shaw Fregene
  5. Emmanuel Akpokodje
  6. Felix Nakpodia
  7. Isa Oyofo
  8. Aduode Edward
  9. Edwin Aguke
  10. Lucky Obire
  11. Kingsley Unueroh
  12. Rotimi Ewedemi
  13. Simple Anyaghara
  14. Vizor Paago
  15. Thomas Itoro
  16. Foreman Onuoha
  17. Ebi Kaizer
  18. Ezekiel Yakubu
  19. Selema Nwoye
  20. Harold Echendu
  21. Lucky Onoigbira
  22. George Akalonu
  23. Dakwal Patrick
  24. Oluwashola Yemi-Jonathan
  25. Felix Oyibo
  26. Lucky Odewhohwo
  27. Femi Abiodun
  28. Oghiagbenphan Daniel
  29. Idama Tosanamromavwhe Dickson

Read Also: Bauchi Fire Service Releases Statistics Report For 2018-2019

Let us know

Receive Alerts on: Whatsapp: +2348022417409 facebook: @SafetyRecordNG Twitter: @SafetyRecordNG, Share your story with us: SMS: +2348022417409, Whatsapp: +2348022417409, Email: