Lagos Safety Commission, Safety Record Announces 9jaSAFE Awards Call For Nominations


The Lagos State Safety Commission (LSSC) has partnered Nigeria’s premier safety publication, Safety Record Newspaper to announce call for nominations for the Nigeria Safety Award for Excellence Hall of Fame (9jaSAFE Awards) 2017.

This was made known in a pre-event press briefing held at the Lagos State Safety Commission Conference Room, Alausa, Ikeja, on Monday, April 10.

The Director General of LSSC, Hon. Hakeem Dickson, commended the organisers of the award, which commenced in 2015, for their consistency in promoting and raising safety consciousness among Nigerian workers through the awards, promising to support their efforts with the issuance of compliance certificates to organisations awarded in the 2017 awards programme.

“The main purpose of this award is to recognise, encourage outstanding performances and initiatives of organisations, individuals and groups towards promoting and raising safety consciousness among Nigerian workers and citizens,” he said.

He added that the award showcases the “amazing examples of commitment to achieving a standard of health and safety practice in workplaces.”

“It is our hope that these awards to recognise those who have excelled in safety measures will also encourage others to aim for the best because merit and hard work will always be recognised.

“I wish to state that the Lagos State Safety Commission will continue to pursue programmes, policies and activities that will promote safety culture among Nigerians,” he stressed.

Also, the Chief Executive Officer of the 9jaSAFE Awards, Alhaji (Dr.) Lateef Alebiosu, while lauding the safety commission’s acceptance of offer of collaboration, said it is hoped that the awards would help raise the bar for safety compliance in the state.

He equally commended Lagos State for being the only state in the country with a safety commission, describing it as proof of the state’s commitment to the safety of residents.

According to its Chief Coordinating Officer, Mr Femi Da-silva, the 9jaSAFE Awards which started in 2015 as an annual award dedicated to celebrating excellence in the field of Occupational Safety and Health in Nigeria is partnering with LSSC this year to better enhance its influence.

He said, “It is aimed at promoting Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) best practices in the workplace in particular and raising safety consciousness among Nigerians in general.”

Da-silva, who is also Managing Editor of Safety Record Newspaper further explained, “We want to identify and recognise outstanding performances and initiatives of individuals, groups, and organizations (including schools), towards promoting and raising safety consciousness among Nigerian workers.”

Tracing the history of the awards, he said, “In 2016, nominations were received from 15 states across the nation with 345 nominees from different sectors of the economy and 220 attended the Gala Night.

“Over 170 industry professionals attended the maiden edition of the Award’s Gala Night in 2015 to network, celebrate success and enjoy the high-profile evening,

“The previous two Award Gala Nights held at the glamorous Lagos Oriental Hotel, Lekki and were hosted by A-list Nigerian comedian Seyi Law, who is also a qualified safety professional and celebrity Special Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps.”

He stated that 30 awards will be handed out in 11 major categories at the 2017 Awards Gala Night scheduled to hold at the same venue.

Da-silva called on members of the general public to nominate deserving individuals and organisations for the 9jaSAFE Awards 2017 through, urging the nominators to read through the criteria before nominating because of the sensitive nature of the awards.

Also at the event were the Director, Safety Compliance and Enforcement of LSSC, Mrs Ronke Odeneye; Director, Safety Training, Mr Adeyinka Adebiyi; and Chairman, 9jaSAFE Panel of Judges, Engr. Julius Alonge.

Post Author: David Chibueze